“If you hear a voice within you say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.”- Vincent Van Gogh

Hello,

I have decided to start this blog as a means to share my art with the world, I know that I have a talent and I’m not so shy anymore as to share that talent with everyone because it is the only true thing that I am good at, it’s the only thing I know and I love it.

On November 12th 2016 I felt like I finally got to meet my Hero for the very first time, Vincent Van Gogh. What I would give to meet him, to be able to talk to him and show him how much I appreciate his works. I saw the Sunflowers, Wheat field with Cypresses, Two Crabs and Van Gogh’s Chair. I was close to tears and I only wish I could have stayed longer but it was so packed full of people trying to get through to the front, it was carnage.

I took a step back to have a look at my surroundings and immediately noticed a couple making out like their lives depended on it, the passion flowing between them as they kissed in front of Van Gogh’s paintings, I noticed an old man silently wipe a tear from his eye and wiping his glasses clean with a handkerchief and all while it was loud and swarming with people too desperate to get a photo in front of it to fully take in his work and just appreciate it.

I went back to that room three times, I couldn’t help it, I had to make the most of finally seeing my hero’s work.

Well, now I guess I should tell you what you should expect from me here, on this blog I will write about things that inspire me, I’ll share posts with you about new paintings I have been working on and the process, I would like to share videos too but that might come round later.

I want to use this space as a way to develop my skill further and to meet and speak to fellow artisans because I only know a few and they are my dearest friends.

I hope to make more dear friends in hopes of discussing things like the future of artists, perhaps to even write to one another, whether that be by emails or letters.

 

I hope this blog finds you well,

Sofia

One thought on ““If you hear a voice within you say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.”- Vincent Van Gogh

Leave a Reply

